This forum is read-only and is provided for reference. The new CensorNet forums will be operational shortly.
forum.censornet.com :: View topic - GB NIC problem
forum.censornet.com Forum Index forum.censornet.com
CensorNet is an Internet Management Appliance
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

GB NIC problem

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    forum.censornet.com Forum Index -> Hardware Compatibility
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
sb



Joined: 13 Feb 2006
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Mar 07, 2006 10:42 pm    Post subject: GB NIC problem Reply with quote

Have set up CN 3.3r5 on P4 CPU with 512Mb RAM in bridge mode on trial basis. (have ISP firewall upstream)

Now want to roll this out to more users to test scaleability, stress the system etc in case we need different hardware.

More RAM is likely, but we are wanting to replace the 100MB NIC with a Gb NIC as all traffic is going through this (potentially 100-200 users in long run).

Current 100MB NIC is RTL8139 - works OK.
Replaced with Netgear GA311 GB NIC - RTL 8169 - recognised on boot but when CN starts up get kernel error. (did once succesfully boot and scan for driver - then got kernel error - hence now seems to recognise RTP8169 on boot)

Limited knowledge of Linux OS, kernels etc - could not find similar problems in forums, though apols if we missed it.

Is RTL8169 supported? Anyone else using one?
If yes, any suggestions why kernel error and what might be done about it? (laymans terms please, if it involves CLI as root user)

TIA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stonefish



Joined: 07 Apr 2003
Posts: 2448
Location: Bristol, UK

PostPosted: Wed Mar 08, 2006 8:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, there is an r8169.ko file in the modules tree so I suspect its supported.

Try editing the file /etc/modules and removing the lines therein, then reboot.

Now run the setup program and use setup to re-detect your cards. That should fix you.

Regards
Neil
_________________
Neil Briscoe
Adelix Limited
neil.briscoe@adelix.com

Adelix Limited - WiFi, VoIP, CensorNet, Linux solutions and consultancy.
www.adelix.com www.censornet.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sb



Joined: 13 Feb 2006
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu Mar 09, 2006 4:05 pm    Post subject: Gb NIC - falls over after editing modules Reply with quote

Thanks for prompt response.

Have replaced 100MB NIC with Gb NIC and deleted all lines from etc/modules

scan for NIC - found rtl8169 driver and set ip address etc and bridge mode.

NIC has flashing lights and shows FD Gb connection with switch.

modules file only shows rtl8169

try pinging to and from CN - nothing. Eventually falls over - various messages about rtl8169 interrupt and then finally 'kernel panic: fatal exception in interrupt'

Does this suggest anything? (other than it doesn't work! Wink )
TIA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stonefish



Joined: 07 Apr 2003
Posts: 2448
Location: Bristol, UK

PostPosted: Thu Mar 09, 2006 4:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sounds like a foob'd driver to me. We didn't write it in the first place - but we might be able to fix it - at a cost. You can send an email to sales@adelix.com and I suggest you include a link to this thread. Then they'll know whats been tried already.

Regards
Neil
_________________
Neil Briscoe
Adelix Limited
neil.briscoe@adelix.com

Adelix Limited - WiFi, VoIP, CensorNet, Linux solutions and consultancy.
www.adelix.com www.censornet.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sb



Joined: 13 Feb 2006
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu Mar 09, 2006 4:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Might it be simpler to get a GB NIC that is known to work with CN?

Any recommendations?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Guest






PostPosted: Thu Mar 09, 2006 4:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

The Intel Pro 1000 NIC is supported by CensorNet. You can buy them from Dabs www.dabs.com quicklinx no. 3N7BWS

Regards,

Tim
Back to top
stonefish



Joined: 07 Apr 2003
Posts: 2448
Location: Bristol, UK

PostPosted: Thu Mar 09, 2006 4:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For the benefit of others, we recommend the Intel e1000.

Either you or your colleague phoned the office - please don't do that and ask here - we work in a distributed set of offices and end up sending echoes around the place asking the same questions over and over until everyone is up to date. Rather like a bridged network with no spanning tree suffering from a topology loop.

(See what I mean Very Happy)

Regards
Neil
_________________
Neil Briscoe
Adelix Limited
neil.briscoe@adelix.com

Adelix Limited - WiFi, VoIP, CensorNet, Linux solutions and consultancy.
www.adelix.com www.censornet.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sb



Joined: 13 Feb 2006
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu Mar 09, 2006 5:09 pm    Post subject: Apologies [grovel] Reply with quote

Sorry about parallel contact - colleague and I in different offices were trying to track solution from different ends in ignorance of each other.

Will endeavour to coordinate in future. (not sure of human equivalent of STP - maybe conversation Exclamation )

In meantime - trying to source an Intel NIC.

Many thanks for all your help - from both of you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stonefish



Joined: 07 Apr 2003
Posts: 2448
Location: Bristol, UK

PostPosted: Thu Mar 09, 2006 5:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Conversation is definitely good, we had lots here - thats what caused the echoes.

Regards
Neil
_________________
Neil Briscoe
Adelix Limited
neil.briscoe@adelix.com

Adelix Limited - WiFi, VoIP, CensorNet, Linux solutions and consultancy.
www.adelix.com www.censornet.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    forum.censornet.com Forum Index -> Hardware Compatibility All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group